May 22, 2012

Darkness Before Dawn

Darkness Before Dawn by J.A. London
Release Date ~ 5/29/12
Format ~ Paperback
Publisher ~ Harper Teen
Source ~ Publisher
Purchase:  The Book Depository
This electrifying new trilogy blends the best of paranormal and dystopian storytelling in a world where the war is over. And the vampires won.
Humans huddle in their walled cities, supplying blood in exchange for safety. But not even that is guaranteed. Dawn has lost her entire family and now reluctantly serves as the delegate to Lord Valentine, the most powerful vampire for miles. It isn’t until she meets Victor, Valentine’s son, that she realizes not all vampires are monsters....
Darkness Before Dawn is a fresh new story with captivating characters, unexpected plot twists, a fascinating setting, and a compelling voice. Written under the name J. A. London by a talented mother-son team, the trilogy is perfect for fans of True Blood and the House of Night and Morganville Vampires series.
   J.A. London's Darkness Before Dawn joins the rapidly growing list of vampire apocalypse novels that (in my eyes) started with Julie Kagawa's The Immortal Rules... it leaves a reader with the question: which of these vampire dystopians are worth reading? Though Darkness Before Dawn was fun while I was reading it, I think you have to be a serious vampire fan to really love it.

  The main character in Darkness Defore Dawn, Dawn has had a tough life. Her entire family has been killed by rogue vampires, and Lord Valentine insisted she follows in her parents foot steps and become the delegate for Denver who is forced to bargain with the cunning vampires she secretly loathes. I really enjoyed how dedicated she was to freeing the humans from the vampire tyrant, and the fact that she didn't lay down and let Valentine walk all over her. The main love interest, Victor, Valentine's son, was probably the only other character I liked. He had all the same wishes as Dawn, and was such a gentlemen! I wish all love interests in books were like him! Dawn's boyfriend, Michael was just plan ANNOYING! He was so insecure and acted like a major moron most of the time, trying to prove to everyone he was top dog.  The best friend, Tegan was just so shallow she made me want to cry. The villain of the story, Valentine was a wickedly crafted villain. He was cunning and cruel, ever time he appeared you wanted to kill him more!

  The world building in Darkness Before Dawn was interesting. Though our world had changed a lot after the vampire war, there were still some things that are around today, like cellphones, high school parties, TVs, and teen drama. It was a bleak world, but there was still some color in it left before the war.

 Okay, now time for my big complaint. This book was so predictable! The preface pretty much gave half oft he book surprise away, and I was able to guess everything else that was going to happen 100 or 200 pages before it happened. When novels are predictable as this one it drives me crazy insane. Darkness Before Dawn tried to be suspenseful, instead it came out as weak and boring, because you knew what was going to happen.

Darkness Before Dawn was a fun read... I will probably continue this series but I'll need more the 2nd one!
Cover Comments: The whole white and black thing is awesome! It makes it look so Gothic!

I invite you to go read one of my favorite bloggers, Anna from Literary Exploration's review here!


  1. It is annoying when a book is so predictable. You just sit there saying 'get on with it!'
    Think I will still give this a go though:)

  2. Ugh, predictable books are not as fun as most books should be. I shall tell you what I told Anna: apparently, this is a book for me to check out from the library, when and if my library decides to become amazing enough to get more GOOD YA fiction books. Just saying.

    And Anna's one of my favorite bloggers, too!

    Have a great day!

  3. Uh oh... Predictability doesn't make the book sounds good but then it's still worth a read. Hope book 2 will be better for you!

  4. Uhm, the cover reminds me too much of Fallen. Also, Lord Valentine? With all the good names out there, why choose one so closely connected to the Mortal Instruments?

  5. I agree with Alssandra... the cover is so much like fallen.
    I think I'm going to keep this one for the days when I am not in mood for surprises!

  6. I agree with you Mohur! It looks like a sequel to the Fallen series.. Predictable much? ha! Just like the Fallen Series!!

  7. I've already pre-ordered this from the Book Depository, so I'm a little worried now that it will be too predictable! Nonetheless, Victor sounds adorable and I like dystopian novels, so hopefully I will end up enjoying this!

  8. Bummer it was so predictable, still sounds like a decent read though. Thanks for the review :)

  9. I have heard so many great things about this book. I cannot wait to read it!

  10. I do want to still read this book. I hate it when the books are predictable also but I will still probably read this. Thanks for the review.

  11. I will have to check this book out. I love the cover, it sounds interesting, shame that it's predictable!

  12. This book is on my to-read list. Can't wait.

  13. It looks like such a good book! I agree with your comment on the black and white colour making it look Gothic; the cover reminds me a bit of Hush Hush and Crescendo's book covers actually.


  14. Jealous. I've been wanting to read this book. Great review, though! I definitely need to pick this up soon!

  15. Great review. I want read this book!!
    Love cover book to.

  16. I have to agree the cover looks like Hush Hush and Valentine does remind me of Mortal Instruments, but it sounds interesting. Adding it to my list!

  17. It sounds like a good read. I'm adding to my reads list. Wonderful review!
    DeAnna Schultz

  18. I agree. You just knew what was going to happen. Still a fun read, though.

  19. I am very excited about this one. I think my excitement has dwindled just an itty-bit because of the predictability of it. I don't believe I will let that stop me from reading it though. And other than that complaint, you liked the book and gave it four feathers. I think I will be alright. And that cover, it is so pretty!


Thank you for the comment, I love and appreciate each and every one! As of March 2012, The Non Reluctant Reader is an awards-free zone. I'm honored to be considered, but do not currently have the time to pass the award on. Comments are the best award I can receive though! If the comment requires a reply, please be sure to check back for one. If it is a feature/meme leave a link to your post and I will stop by and comment if I get the chance!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the Under the Dappled Shadows kit by Lorie Davison